Dream Analysis– Understanding the Sleep Cycle

Prior to we can comprehend simply what happens in the dreaming mind, and what everything ways, it is a great idea to have an understanding of the sleep cycle, and the function of dream sleep within this sleep cycle. Dream sleep is a distinct part of the sleep cycle, different in nearly every method from other kinds of sleep.

There are four unique stages to the sleep cycle, and every human goes through a number of such sleep cycles in a common night. The average full sleep cycle lasts from 90-120 minutes, so an average eight hour night of sleep might contain four or more separate sleep cycles.

Dreams may take place at any of the 4 stages of sleep, however the most brilliant dreams, and the ones probably to be remembered in the early morning, happen during the Rapid Eye Movement stage of sleep. This sleep phase is normally described as Rapid Eye Movement (rapid eye movement) sleep. The name originates from the eye motions that are observed throughout this phase of sleep.

Because the whole sleep cycle repeats at least 4 and sometimes as many as 7, times per night, it is therefore possible and even likely that the very same individual will experience several different dreams every night. For the most part, nevertheless, the only dreams that are kept in mind are those that occur closest to waking. Not remembering dreams, nevertheless, does not mean they have actually not occurred.

Let us begin our take a look at the four stages of sleep.

Phase 1
During the very first phase of sleep, the sleeper’s eyes move back and forth in an erratic fashion. For this factor, this phase of sleep is described as Rapid Eye Movement, or rapid-eye-movement sleep, sleep. This stage normally occurs from 90-100 minutes after the initial beginning of sleep. During this duration of sleep, the high blood pressure increases and the heart rate and respiration accelerate and might become erratic as well. During this stage of sleep, the voluntary muscles become paralyzed. This stage of sleep is the one in which the majority of dreaming occurs.

Stage 2
Phase 2 is a light sleep, and it is characterized by non rapid eye movements. During this stage of sleep the muscles are unwinded that the heart rate is slowed. This stage of sleep prepares the body for much deeper sleep.

Stage 3 and 4
Phases 3 and 4 likewise feature non rapid-eye-movement sleep. Throughout phases 3 and four of the sleep cycle, the body enters into a deep sleep. You are completely asleep during both phases, however phase 4 is more intense than stage 3.

All 4 stages of sleep repeat themselves throughout the sleep period, normally happening from 4 to 7 times. Each time the sleeper goes into Rapid Eye Movement sleep, dreaming occurs. Sometimes dreamers remember dreams from earlier in the night, but in most cases the dreams that are remembered are those that take place closest to waking.

Scientists understand, however, that dreaming takes place during all 4 to 7 sessions of Rapid Eye Movement. They understand this through their work with volunteers who consent to be awakened throughout Rapid Eye Movement. Those awakened during Rapid Eye Movement generally supply extremely vivid descriptions of those dreams, as do those who awaken naturally during a particularly vibrant, extreme or frightening dream.

spinrewriter banner horizontal large